It’s already first day of Week 7 and here I am posting Week 5 review. Week 5 is not a good week in term of training.

Day 29: Monday (Jan 15) – Rest

My weakness to complete last week’s long run still lingers in the back of my mind. Consequently, I am losing a bit of motivation. I am questioning myself whether I really want this.

Mileage: 0 km | Weight: N/A.

Day 30: Tuesday (Jan 16) – Midweek Long

Today calls for 90-105 minutes of easy. I need to find something to bring myself out of conundrum. Nothing lifts my motivation up other than running in groups. I wake up early to run with Kyserun ‘445 AM’ Krew. This is my first AM session in almost a year. 105 minutes go by quickly.

Strava

Mileage: 17.3 km | Weight: N/A.

Day 31: Wednesday (Jan 17) – Rest

Weather has not been on our sides. It keeps pouring.

Mileage: 0 km | Weight: N/A.

Day 32: Thursday (Jan 18) – Yasso 800s

10 reps of 800m with each rep runs at target marathon time with equivalent recovery between reps. One of the predictors for marathon time. I run faster than target time though. I run a lot faster in the last two laps especially, one because following Ziq’s pace, the other one because kena cucuk. Overall, I feel good. If Yasso is any indicator, I shall be able to run a 3:08 marathon. Of course it is not an accurate predictor. It is a wishful thinking to think that I can run that fast. I am not there, yet.

Strava

Mileage: 15.5 km | Weight: 53.0 kg.

Day 33: Friday (Jan 19) – Easy + Not So Easy 500m

5’15 min/km effort translates to 5’00 min/km on synthetic track. Hard to keep the pace down. That’s why Yasso 800s done at track is an inaccurate marathon predictor. Marathon is not done on fast flat synthetic track surface. Get too carried away when my wife shouts last lap and go near all-out in the last 500m. Cadence is so low though.

Strava

Mileage: 10.2 km | Weight: 53.0 kg.

Day 34: Saturday (Jan 20) – Wrecked

Reckless 500m sprint towards the end of yesterday’s easy totally wrecks my legs. Easy to the heart but legs are sore af.

Strava

Mileage: 11.1 km | Weight: 52.7.

Day 35: Sunday (Jan 21) – Abandoned

Today I suppose to run my long run. However I oversleep and my tummy is not feeling well. I know that I will have to stop for many toilet breaks if I go out running. But I am actually being lazy. Making up too many excuses. I get too tired comes evening and abandon my plan to run long altogether. I will run my long run tomorrow.

Mileage: 0 km | Weight: N/A.

Review

Procrastination gets better of me. I only run in 4 days this week with a meagre mileage of 54.2 kilometres and total time of 4h 41m. The only high point of the week is the Yasso workout. Although it is an inaccurate predictor, I feel good running it.

Weekly Mileage: 54.2 kilometres. Running Time: 4h 41m.

