Day 15: Monday (Jan 2) – Rest

First time in the cycle where I don’t run in two consecutive days. But I have fun going down slides at a waterpark in Malacca. It is the end of Malacca trip and I hop it is also the end of my eating binge. Time to clock in some mileage in the New Year.

Mileage: 0 km | Weight: N/A.

Day 16: Tuesday (Jan 2) – First Miles of the New Year

The plan is to run 17 kilometres in 90 minutes to commemorate 2017. Then it starts to get dark, lightning everywhere, and eventually the heaven opens up. It is raining cats and dogs and mouses. I begin to taste my own sweat mixed with the rain. The condition is so bad that I am forced to cut my run short.

Strava

Mileage: 13.7 km | Weight: 53.4 kg.

Day 17: Wednesday (Jan 3) – Lazy Easy

It is supposed to be 90 minutes run that is interrupted yesterday. I wake up feeling lazy to go outside. I get out of the house anyway but only manage to do 70 minutes run. I stop a couple of times before calling it a day.

Strava

Mileage: 12.5 km | Weight: 52.7 kg.

Day 18: Thursday (Jan 4) – Cruise Intervals

It is track day, favourite day of the week. The plan is to run 8-10 reps of KM repeats at 4’03-4’11 min/km. I only eat half of a banana before the workout. Only manage to complete 8 reps as I am feeling hungry. It is a semi-tough workout.

Strava

Mileage: 15.5 km | Weight: 52.8 kg.

Day 19: Friday (Jan 5) – Under the Weather

I wak up feeling something is not right. The weather is fine but I am not. Stuffy nose and scratchy nose, that’s all. And my sole is aching. Fortunately it is not at plantar fascia region so I shall be alright. I am not feeling any better as the day progresses so I am taking the day off. Sometimes you have to listen to your body.

Mileage: 0 km | Weight: 53.2 kg.

Day 20: Saturday (Jan 6) – New Ground

I am still feeling under the weather but I don’t want to get behind my plan. I am trying to shake it off by running easy at Taman Metropolitan Kepong, 3.6 kilometres undulating loop. Properly maintained and wide track, so this shall be a good replacement to Titiwangsa when it closes.

Strava

Mileage: 12.6 km | Weight: 53.2 kg.

Day 21: Sunday (Jan 7) – Progression

I am yet to ‘finish’ a marathon in four previous attempts. I am stuck with one gear from the beginning till 28-30 kilometres. When the legs get tired, I just could not find an extra gear. That’s why I am introducing progression run in this cycle, to find that extra gear at latter stages of a marathon.

The plan is to start at an easy pace and increase the pace every 10 minutes for 80 minutes (6’00, 5’45, 5’30, 5’20, 5’10, 5’00, 4’45, 4’30 min/km) before finishing it off at 10k pace in the last 10 minutes. I start to suffer when the pace drops below 5’00 min/km. Bad GPS signal at shaded area greatly affects me. Once at 10k pace, I am pushing a lot harder yet the pace becomes slower. I know it is partly because of the GPS issue but 3 minutes in, I give up and stop. Fortunately, I manage to steal my third CR at Titiwangsa. I regret my decision to stop for the rest of the day though. I am stronger than this.

Strava

Mileage: 16.6 km | Weight: 52.7 kg.

Review

Another 5 days a week of running, no cross training for a total mileage of 71 kilometres in the span of 6h 8m. I am glad to complete two key workouts, cruise intervals on Thursday and progression on Sunday. A bit disappointed not to complete the whole program of the progression run though.

