I get up on the wrong side of the bed this morning. Upon waking up, I can feel my back is hurting. The pain from my prolapsed intervertebral disc is back. After a careful and lengthy assessment, I, with the assistance of my wife, have made a difficult and emotional decision, not to board MH2638, Kuala Lumpur to Kinabalu, hence DNS (Did Not Start) in this year Borneo International Marathon. I was already at the doorstep of KLIA.

3 months of half-hearted preparation finally come to an end. It is difficult as I have gained a bit of weight due to tapering for BIM. But running is not the most important thing in this life. My full marathon debut is postponed and I am now looking for a future event (hopefully before Ramadhan) to run my maiden full marathon. This also means that I have to give Hasuu Tasu 28-km Night Trail Run a miss.

To all BIM runners, especially the awesome Labuan Running club guys and girls, good luck and have fun.

